Warrandyte Historical Society – Who we are?
The Warrandyte Historical Society was formed in 1976, following centenary celebrations for the Warrandyte Primary School’s original stone building when so much work, archive material and goodwill transpired that the historical society was formed in order not to lose the information gathered. Over the decades, loyal bands of members have cared for the collection and the museum housed in the historic Old Post Office. They have opened the museum at weekends; assisted in archiving the records; helped at working bees and provided support when needed.
Our museum is housed in the former Warrandyte Post Office which operated from 1876 to 1972. Left empty it was severely damaged by fire. Following its restoration 1985 to 1988 it became the Society’s home and museum.
The museum devotes a room to gold discovery and its influence on the development of the town. The Aboriginal Room contains a history of the Wurundjeri people and their relationship with the area. Other rooms are used for special exhibits designed to showcase Warrandyte to residents and visitors.
Museum Temporarily Closed from 16 March 2020. Our usual opening hours are 1.30pm – 4.30pm Saturday and Sunday all year round and entry is free. The museum is closed on Extreme and Code Red fire warning days. Other times by appointment phone (03) 9844 4176
Warrandyte Historical Society Inc.
Incorporation No.: A0013313L
ABN: 55 398 927 524
Address: 111 Yarra Street, Warrandyte, 3113
PO Box 67 Warrandyte, 3113
The Warrandyte Historical Society is an incorporated association run by a committee of management. Our group is affiliated with the Whitehorse Manningham Heritage Network and Picture Victoria.
The Committee of Management for the Warrandyte Historical Society for 2015-16 are:
Margaret Kelly (President) – (03) 9844 4684
Val Polley (Secretary) – (03) 9844 3086
David Carty (Treasurer) – (03) 9844 1920